Sunday, October 11, 2009

Sylhet Division Tour (Habiganj)


Habiganj District (Sylhet division) with an area of 2636.58 sq km, is bounded by sunamganj district on the north, Tripura State of India on the south, maulvi bazar and sylhet districts on the east, brahmanbaria and kishoreganj districts on the west. Annual average temperature maximum 33.2°C, minimum 13.6°C. Total rainfall 3334 mm. Noted rivers are Khowai, Sutang, Korangi, Kalni, Kushiyara, Gopala, Ratna, Barak.

Habiganj (Town) consists of 9 wards and 64 mahallas. It has an area of 20.60 sq km. The town has a population of 54178; male 52.59%, female 47.41%. Literacy rate among the town people is 59.9%. Habiganj Town Committee was established in 1881 and it was turned into a municipality in 1913. During the British period an embankment was constructed along the Khoai to protect the town. The main business centre of the town is Chowdhury Bazar. The town has one dakbungalow.

Administration Habiganj subdivision was established in 1874 under sylhet district and was turned into a district in 1984. It consists of 4 municipality, 36 wards, 124 mahallas, 8 upazilas, 77 union parishads, 1241 mouzas and 2093 villages. The upazilas are ajmiriganj, baniachang, bahubal, chunarughat, habiganj sadar, lakhai, madhabpur and nabiganj.

No comments:

Post a Comment